Tags

, ,

I watched him struggle. His tongue was curling up. His concentration so deep. I thought to interrupt him with an offer to help but something hindered me. I knew if I did, he would give up and not do it at all. My kid is funny that way.
Five years old and determined to keep in touch with his good friend that has recently moved away. Firemen buddies they were. He enthusiastically draws pictures of firetrucks, firemen, Doctor Who, and his pal. Today looked different. He was actually writing words underneath the picture he drew. Rarely does he do that. He did not ask me how to spell anything. The perfectionist in me yearned to make sure it was done right. Sometimes, its a good thing to make sure it is. Not this time.
He finished and proudly showed me. I could read it. It may not all have been spelled correctly but I knew what he was writing about. My heart was so glad.

You see, about a year ago, I worried a lot over Stephen. He showed no interest at all. He was turning 5 and I thought it would be important to learn the alphabet sounds and start the foundation for reading and spelling. He was downright adamant on not learning. He was already a perfectionist. If he didn’t get it right the first time, whether it was writing the alphabet letters, saying the alphabet sounds or whatever, then he absolutely had no interest and “gave up”. I was terrified. Would I have a kid that wouldn’t learn? My daughter was ready to do all this stuff and he was so quick to give up! What would I do when I really had to buckle down on his education?

But then, I watched him. As I took in my younger sister to help my mom out, we all learned to read. Sister did, Euphemia did and when Stephen felt like it, he was encouraged to join.

I had first enlisted the help of my dear mother-in-law who was a teacher for over 2 decades and I used the same manner and skills she did. I think it worked well for her but I just felt very frustrated. It really seemed as though we never moved forward. When my sister came into the picture, she brought with her, Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. I think having such a small amount of doing and learning to do at a time, really helped. Things just went smoothly from there. Stephen grew in leaps in bounds… in so far as education is concerned.

So, I encourage you mothers out there that struggle with feeling that you are adequately doing the job of teaching your children.
I couldn’t help but this as I watched Stephen this evening, of that section in Corinthians 1:
“27 but God has chosen the foolish things of the world to shame the wise,… 29 so that no man may boast before God… 31 so that, just as it is written, “Let him who boasts, boast in the Lord.”

As Dori says, “Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.”

You never know- our children just may surprise us with how much they really are paying attention.

“The boy is happy because he is at the fair” Interpretation by Mom.