Tags

, ,

I know this is not a new thing.  In fact, I have seen it around several times and have always timidly stepped my foot in to test the water, then I fail and run back far away from the water’s edge so as not to set myself up as a failure.  I hate failure.  I shouldn’t. I will always fail at something but doesn’t mean I have to like it!

What am I talking about here? The “No Spend Month” challenge.  This month happens to be April so I am participating in the “No Spend in April”.  Now, before you scratch your head and try to understand this, lemme explain what it is.

It’s not mean that you won’t be spending money at all in April.  You still need to pay your bills, eat, and and have transportation. What this does mean is that you don’t purchase things you don’t NEED.  Starbucks is not a need (as much as I would like to say it is…) Organizing items are not a need (my sanity might disagree! UGH! SEE I can find an excuse for everything!) I do not need anymore clothes.

Erin Condren Life Planner View.

Keeping a monthly accountability using my Erin Condren Life Planner and stickers to mark good days and days I miss. Notice I only have 5…

 

People that know me will tell you I am a frugal person.  That doesn’t mean I am stingy and never buy anything, don’t get me wrong.  But I work hard to be very careful with my money.  But the old saying “easy come easy go” is so true.  In fact, I think its harder for our culture to really grasp that.  We live in such a throw-away society.  Nothing is made to last anymore. For me, this becomes a mindset in how I spend.

I think often of my visit with my Grandma last summer.  She is such an inspiration and I rarely use that term.  But for the four days I spent with her and my grandpa, one conversation stuck close to home for me.  She lives in a small home, minimalist but still a gorgeous home! She has no car. She lives in a small town in the state of Missouri. She keeps a garden. She is still wearing polyester pants that make me cringe (I can’t stand polyester) and she’ll spend her “free” time knitting blankets for the senior center. If I am half the woman she is one day, I’ll feel so lucky.  But our conversation was centered around today’s economic world.  Grandma summed everything up in a single sentence.  “I have no needs.”

Now, this may seem simple. Maybe too simple.  But stop and think a minute.  Are you content with where you are right now? I complain (wish I could think of a nicer word for that) all the time about our home and its clutter.  All 770 sq feet of it.  Anything I bring in the house will have to have a home.  Is that something I really want to contribute too? I have a home full of books, do I really need this author’s newest book? I have pieces of jewelry never worn, do I really need another one that may look the best with that shirt? I have lots of stickers and pens already, do I really need something else when I could use what I have in my planner already? I LOVE fresh cut flowers! LOVE em. They make me smile and just make me want to freshen up the rest of the house! I didn’t buy any yesterday… In the summer months, our sunflowers will be up and blooming but in the meantime, I’ve been looking for alternative ways.

Most of our Words for this year is “Intentional” I’ve heard that one used SO much.  So let’s be intentional about being good stewards with the money we have worked hard to earn.

