Tags

,

From the book description:

From the author of The Kid Who Changed the World, this hilarious rhyming story, complete with charming art, offers comfort to children who often feel left out or are in need of a good friend.

At some point, almost every child struggles with feeling like they don’t fit in or are left out—just like Henry Hodges. Henry is a lonely little boy on a lonely little street who longs for a friend. One day, his mother and father take him to a pet rescue shelter and his lonely world is changed! Told in a playful rhyme with adorable illustrations, this book will be a favorite among children and parents who love dogs and, ultimately, will comfort and encourage children who struggle with feeling accepted and finding friends.

Kids will want to read this whimsical and imaginative story again and again!

I was trying to branch out of my book selection this month and requested this child’s book and was really excited to be able to share these with my children for our story hour. I am hesitant to even write this review but I know I would want to be able to trust reviews I read so here goes;
I was actually very unimpressed with this book. I honestly did not expect to find another Adventures of Huckleberry Finn or even something like, “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt“. Truly, I was not looking for something to replace those because they are classics. But, I did want to be able to feel comfortable keeping this on my shelf to be able to read to the children and I feel that way at all. I felt like this was a silly book and not even a Dr. Suess style (and he writes pretty silly stuff) but just something that had nothing to grow on. It was just there. I couldn’t figure out the purpose of this book other than the boy is all alone and found another one all alone too and now they can enjoy lonesomeness together.

What I DID like about the book, were the illustrations. It had beautiful colors and Henry is pretty cute! But I didn’t find that to be enough to keep on the shelf.

Because I know I am more conservative in my selection, I offered to have some of my friends read the book and tell me what they think. I tried to be careful to word it so they didn’t know my feelings on it. I didn’t get any takers but someone else saw the book on my table, a teacher actually, and she glanced over it, read it quickly, and I asked what she thought of it. She shrugged and said she wasn’t that impressed with it. It kinda made me glad to feel like I wasn’t just trying to judge something harshly.

Despite my thoughts on this, Amazon reports to have 13, 5 Star reviews.

I would like to host the giveaway for this book.  See what you think.  If you are interested in Henry Hodges Needs a Friend, please comment below and make sure you leave a way for me to contact you! 🙂  I will pick 1 winner on Monday via random.org for this book and you can have a chance to read and see what you think.  For an extra entry, share this post and reply that you have done so.

 

I give this book 2.5 stars. Recommended for ages 4-8 All opinions are my own. I am not being paid to review these other than receiving my own copy to read and review. Thank you BookLookBloggers.com for feeding my love for books.

