Tags

, , ,

River's Edge (Cape Refuge Series Book 3)
Book Description;

The man Lisa Jackson loved most may have betrayed her.
Another used deception to manipulate her.
But did one of them kill her?

Ben Jackson is sure to defeat Jonathan Cleary in Cape Refuge’s mayoral race, until his wife turns up missing the day before a major debate. Suspecting foul play, Police Chief Cade launches an island-wide search. But it takes a psychic’s “vision” to point police to the riverside—and Lisa’s body.

The evidence implicating Ben in his wife’s murder is convincing. But as a local scandal escalates into a national media circus, Cade’s instincts tell him to dig deeper. And he’s not the only one. Blair Owens of the Cape Refuge Journal is using her investigative skills to uncover a rat’s nest of dirty secrets—and more than one person with a motive for murder. But Blair’s methods are jeopardizing her relationship with Cade, and an unsolicited prediction from the psychic only adds to her troubles. Is the man’s so-called gift truly from God, as he claims?

Did Lisa’s murder have anything to do with the mayoral race, her husband’s alleged affair, or her decade-long struggle with infertility? Whoever the killer is, he’s about to take his evasion of justice to the next, lethal level. And someone else is going to die.

 

Terri Blackstock’s, River’s Edge is the third book in the Cape Refuge Series. I recently requested this book on the BookLookBloggers program to read and write a review on.  While it is the third book in the series and you get ideas that there is more to the story than just this third book and I didn’t feel like there was a disconnect with the characters. I could easily pick up what was going on without ruining it should I go back to reading the first two books.  I am a mom, I catch reading snitches at the dinner table, before the lights turn off in bed, and whenever else I can (sitting in traffic aka 2 minute stop light) so when I started thing I had teh feeling that this had a slow start but imagine my surprise when I hit a stopping point to realize I had already read half the book! People, this is almost 400 pages!

You are wrapped up in the main characters of our story.  First the Pastor running for Mayor and his wife, Morgan, are trying desperately to conceive and suffering a miscarriage on top of a tragedy and the stress of a mayor campaign was handled so beautifully and realistically that you felt the emotion. You felt the drama but it wasn’t so depressing that you were just done with it.  Since they run a house for people with a trouble past, you know you are going to be walking in conflict and emotions but it was beautifully tied into this story.  Blair and Cade make a cute couple.  Cop and news reporter, gotta love the spark and fire between the two and the love they feel as a newly dating couple.  I look forward to hearing more about their story.

Four stars.  Really enjoyed this book.  Would definitely read it again and would recommend it to family and friends.   In fact, I would love to bless someone with my copy.  Fair warning, the spine did arrive damage in shipping but it looks brand new otherwise.    To purchase this book, simply click this link to be taken to Amazon!

To enter, just put your name in below and I’ll use random.org to choose one winner.  Please make sure I have a way to email you should you be the chosen winner.

 

All opinions are my own.  I was not paid to write this review.  The book was freely given to me with no strings attached other than writing my review on it.

