Tags

, ,

I made Rice Crispie Treats tonight for our monthly Church refreshments.   I have a horrible habit of burning the butter.  I don’t mean too. I try to keep an eye on it but inevitably, I blink and there it is turning that brown color that makes you cringe and ring your hands.  Do you throw the butter out? Waste it and try again?  I can’t.  The frugal person in me screams no.  Well, tonight I got smart.  I bought Barbara’s Brown Rice Crispies at the market yesterday, used my $2 off coupon that I must brag about. 


That way, if I burned it again, no one could tell! Right? Brown rice/ healthy treats are always blamed for the off-taste they give….

Well… I didn’t burn the butter! What an accomplishment that is for me.  Whew.  We all know how easy it is to make Rice Crispie Treats but here is how I made a little twist on the recipe;
3TBSP of butter (coconut oil does not work. Just fyi)
1 bag of Marshmallows (I have found the larger ones to work better than the mini)
1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut (Just enough to give it that hint of a coconut taste but not too much that it takes away from the rice crispie flavor)
6 cups Barbara’s Brown Rice Crispies.

The result 4.5 stars!!!! It needs something to really pizazz it I think but I truly believe this is the best Rice Crispie Treat I have ever had.  Maybe a bit of chocolate drizzled over it. Chocolate makes everything taste the best.

  If you rather not pay $5-$6 box of Barbara’s or would like to find and easier excessible brand, Kelloggs makes a Brown Rice Krispie, I can’t promise the same outcome though. These have a rich darkness to them that I have not seen in Kelloggs.

I would love to know if you use this adaptation of mine.  How did you like it?

 

