Is anyone out there? Hellooooooooooooooooooooo.

Well, ahem.  We have been very busy at the Sodbuster household.  Each day brings new and exciting adventures. Ahem.

The darlings are beginning school.  Yes, we started last year with the foundation and now we are building on that foundation.

I really wanted school to be centered around the Bible so one of the things we did was to find Creation days coloring pages that could easily be turned into a book.  Each day we read a portion of scripture and my (now) 5 yr old daughter and soon to be 4 yr old son would follow along while coloring.  It was a good way to start out my day.

Then we would move onto learning our alphabet.  I was so blessed in that my mother-in-law, a former teacher herself, would come over in the mornings and share with me what she would teach her kindergarten and 1st grade class.

I will share with you in case some of you were in the same boat as I and knew what needed to be done but couldn’t figure out how to put it all into a child’s hands.

She had 1 sheet of the alphabet listed and next to each alphabet letter would be a picture of the short sound the letter would make.  So for example, an ‘apple’ would be next to the letter a.  Elephant would be next to the letter E.  Anything with its short sound.  2 full 8×11 sheets of these pictures.  Q was with the letter U because ‘Q doesn’t make a sound unless with letter U.   We would point to each letter as we went down the alphabet to the letter H saying ‘a’- apple (not Aye apple but the sound) b-boat (again, the sound, not the name).

Then we had flashcards JUST with the letters on them.  No pictures.  But with the flashcards were papers with different pictures on them like, apples, ants, avacado. etc etc and their job was to point to the pictures as they would say the short sound.

Having my mother-in-law there was wonderful.  The first day, we were done in maybe 10-15 minutes.  But, as the weeks progressed we have worked our way up to an hour.  Every couple days, learning the sound of another alphabet letter and how to print them.

I know what you are thinking, what about math? What about science and social studies?

We are also learning these, and shapes and colors, etc by what is done around the house.

“Euphemia, can you find me something taht is red and square?”
“Stephen, can you put away that triangle shaped toy of Benjamins?”
“Euphemia, you have two raisins? Oh here, let me give you 2 more.  How many do you have?  Well, why don’t you share one with your brother, how many does that leave you?”

One of the most valuable tools I have found during this time is Ruth Beechick’s book- The Three R’s

I hope you are reading this because tomorrow morning, I plan on posting Crystal Paine’s new ebook, 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life.
Wooo Hooo!

