“In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”   Acts 20:35

41And He sat down opposite the treasury, and began observing how the people were putting money into the treasury; and many rich people were putting in large sums.

42A poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which amount to a cent.

Calling His disciples to Him, He said to them, “Truly I say to you, this poor widow put in more than all the contributors to the treasury;

44for they all put in out of their surplus, but she, out of her poverty, put in all she owned, all she had to live on.”

Mark 12:41-44

 

Many times I hear the expression around,  “The Lord blesses one who gives so freely” (paraphrased).   While I had seen this true,  it has almost become like a good-luck charm for our culture.    Not too often do you see someone that gives and forgets… but one that almost expects something in return when something is given.     Quite often you hear of the tale of the Widow with 2 mites.  How she gave it her all and Jesus blessed her.   I have heard many assume that she was blessed with material wealth.   Riches, food, etc.

They will give to charities, give to the church, give to a friend in need, all the while expecting something amazing to happen to them for all this generous giving they are doing.   It is quite sad really to watch.    It has become not really a gift, but an investment, with expectations of a greater manifold.

I find it interesting that the Lord did not mention anything about giving her great wealth for what she gave (which was everything.  She did not know where her next bread would come from nothing) but would I be surprised if he saw that she always did have everything she needed? No. I would not be surprise.  Because that is how our Lord is.  But, if He chose not too, I am sure that she would have still seen that the Lord has everything she possessed… because she served HIM.

Another example that always comes to mind when reading this passage is about Elijah and the Widow and her son.   (Read 1 Kings 17).    The widow after helping Elijah, received enough oil and flour each day to live.  It doesn’t say that they had an over abundant but that they had enough.

Where am I going with all of us?

I think it is just something very important to remember,  especially in our uncertain times, that the Lord does provide.   We help our families by couponing and whatnot.  Saving money here and there.  Cutting items out of our budget.   But to all of this, when we give,  give how our Lord instructed us;

“But when you give to the poor, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing.”  Matthew 6:3

“Each one must do just as he has purposed in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” 2 Corinthians 9:7

 

I do not write this to anyone in particular.  I mostly write this as I would in my journal for I see a need to change myself in this area.   We should give, as the Lord has given us so so much.   But do not give so you can get.

 

 

 

