Tags

,

 Ready or Not

Ok so it not JUST because she is the most wonderful mother a girl could have.  I have to write this raving review because I LOVED this book.

Book Description:

Product Description

Fresh out of college, Aggie Milliken thinks she’s prepared for anything life can throw her way. Think again, Aggie! After the abrupt loss of her sister and brother-in-law, Aggie is stunned to find herself the sole guardian of their eight lively children. If learning basic parenting skills wasn’t complicated enough, she must also battle the children’s half-crazed grandmother, survive a massive remodeling project, and navigate the waters of new friendships-alone. She has little experience with children and none with housekeeping, and it shows. What she has going for her is grit, a double dose of determination, and the confidence that this is exactly where the Lord wants her to be. With an unlimited P-mail account and enough hymns to keep her spirits bolstered, she tackles one catastrophe after another. It seems like nothing Aggie does is right, but ready or not, here she comes!

About the Author

Chautona lives and writes in California’s Mojave Desert with her husband Kevin, nine children, and two grandchildren. When not lost in another world with her imaginary friends, she home educates her children, enjoys a variety of hobbies, and glances longingly at her trusty laptop, Roger.
What I loved most about Aggie was the fact that it felt real, but it felt like a fairy tale.  It was reality without feeling like you were reading another biography.    Not that I have anything against them mind you… but when I want fiction…I want fiction! 
I think I cried along with Aggie as I remembered some of the escapades that the children did (and had to wonder if Mumsie was remembering a time or two when back when…) and thinking how simularly all motherhood stories are yet so unique.   OF course the question always in my mind was,  “What would I have done with inheriting 8 children overnight?” 
Probably the thing that stuck with me the most is the childrearing situations.    Even though I grew up with the most wonderful mother…. I seem to have always have something to learn or be reminded of.   Motherhood is something we all have to learn.  We cant inherit it… like children anyway. 😉 
So,  what can I say to convince you to go and get this book and read it for yourself?  Would it be the giggles?  The tissue box you have to have handy?  The soothing moments when you read how Aggie sing the hymns to reconnect herself?  The time when you want to grab a 2×4 for a certain woman?  I think this is a book every woman should read.  It will keep you turning the pages.   Never a dull moment with Aggie. 
