Tags

, ,

 Click to Close (The Word of Promise)

When I recieved my box from Thomas Nelson, I was so excited!   I love audio book and what a treasure to have an audio Bible!

Information about the subject:

Hear the Bible Come Alive in Dramatic Audio Theater™!

This multi-voiced, scripted dramatization of the New King James Version (NKJV) features a star-studded cast of actors, an original music score, and incredible feature film quality sound effects. This world-class production creates a dramatic audio theater experience that makes you feel like you’re really there with Jesus and His disciples. Listen in your car, on your MP3 player, or with your family or small group to gain a new perspective of the Bible.

The Word of Promise® New Testament Audio Bible is a 20-CD set and includes a bonus “Behind-the-Scenes” DVD.

Cast Includes:

  • Jim Caviezel (The Passion of The Christ, Déjà vu) – Jesus
  • Academy Award winner Richard Dreyfuss (Mr. Holland’s Opus, The Goodbye Girl) – Quotes from Moses
  • Academy Award winner Marisa Tomei (My Cousin Vinny, What Women Want) – Mary Magdalene
  • Golden Globe winner Stacy Keach (Prison Break, Hemingway) – Paul
  • Academy Award and Golden Globe winner Louis Gossett, Jr. (An Officer and a Gentleman, Roots) – John
  • Kimberly Williams-Paisley (According to Jim, Father of the Bride) – Mary, Mother of Jesus
  • And many others

I will admit that when my neighbor tried talking me into borrowing her copy I was hesitant.  I get really nervous when the True Word of God is acted out.  I know that something are handled really well and some are fictionalized too much for my comfort.  This is was the former.  It was handled SO WELL. 

I put the CD’s on in my car so I could listen to them as I did my errands.   I do not recommend this method to everyone.  I personally became so engrossed in the Life of Jesus and the historical accounts thereof that I wasnt completely paying attention to my driving.  Again, not recommended. 😉

What I did not like about the cd’s.   I did not like how they did the demon possessed men.  It sounded way to sci-fi for me.  But, I could handle it.   It wasnt a “turn this off I cant handle it” kind of voice.  It had a go-oul (sp?) sound from the Stargate shows kind of sound.  Just not me at all.  But it was handled very well. 

Jim Caviezel did a wonderful job portraying a righteous Jesus.  Compassionate in voice when called for, stern in his rebuking, meek in his dealings with those that betrayed and crucified with him.  The Father you long to hear of.  If Jim can portray so well, can you imagine how wonderful it will be to hear Jesus?

Michael York,  I love his british accent as he narrates the book.  I think I have him doing the book of Romans in ESV.   I just love his voice.  He is engaging but soothing. 

Kimberly Williams-Paisley,  ahhh, that voice.    I loved seeing her in FOB and FOB2,  now to hear her portray Mary, the Mother of Jesus was just beautiful.  Her voice is so soft and powerfull.  Weep and rejoice along with Mary is all I can describe.  Words could not express the life she brings to the story.

As for the other cast- Their names I do not reconize but they were all so wonderful.  Truly! This CD set is among some of my valued earthly possessions.  Something to pop in when I am cooking in the kitchen or sitting at the machine, sewing.   Those are my most thought/pondering moments.  What a better way could there be than to ponder on the life and gospel of Jesus?  Pauls words and work?

Bottom line:  I would most definetly recommend this CD set.  Well worth the $49.95 you would pay at thomasnelson.com.  For 20 cds! + a bonus DVD on how it was made.  Unfortunetly, not having a television set,  I was unable to watch the DVD but hopefully I will be able to watch it at a friends house.   This would make a good gift for those hard-to-figure out people.   I really enjoyed hearing the New Testament through a wonderful audio cast.  I hope to hear the Old Testament someday soon!  

 Buy the CD Set

Thank you Thomas Nelson for allowing me the priveledge of reviewing this CD set.

