Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Wow, what a title eh?  Ok, well, first off we have 2 books up for giveaway.  I am so excited about one so let me start with that.

New Knits on the Block: A Guide to Knitting What Kids Really Want

This is a fantasticly coolified knitting book.  All different kind of patterns to make some interesting, unique but fun gifts for kids.  Some of it definetly is not me (there is a mermaid costume knitted in there. Unique but so not me ) there is knight armour sweater, and a bowling alley set, oh my.  Seriously, if you knit, this is one book you will want to have.   So, I am giving one away to a lucky winner.   All you have to do is post away.  Tell me your favorite thing to knit/crochet or even your funniest craft story.   I want to hear.   So that is 1 entry.  A couple other ways are to,  post this giveaway on your blog/facebook/etc.  Tell me in a serperate comment.  The 3rd way you can enter is also by being or subscribing to my blog.   SO that will give you 3 enteries. 

The Next book I have up for contest is

The Mother-Daughter Book Club, by Heather Vogel Frederick.  Cover design by Lucy Ruth Cummins. Jacket photograph copyright © 2007 by Michael Frost Studio

Back:

Book club is about to get a makeover. . . .

Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma’s already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-imposed ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school.  From stolen journals, to secret crushes, to a fashion-fiasco first dance, these sixth-graders are up to their Wellie boots in drama.  They can’t help but wonder:  What would Jo March do?

The Mother-Daughter Book Club will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.OK, so here is what I thought.  It definetly had a more modern tone to it.  The daughters have no respect for their mothers,  everyone has a crush on somebody, some of the dialogs were kind of lame but over all I really enjoyed it.  It wasnt one I started and then gave away in the middle of the book.  I thought it ended very well.  I am pleased with the ending but I wont spoil the book for you.  I loved the little Louisa May Alcott facts throughout the book.  I dont know how accurate they are but it was fun to read.  Definetly geared more towards younger age group but if you wanted something light hearted, clean, then enter to win this book.  

 

I dont think this is a Christian book.  But there is no cussing, no kissing, and no sex.   Ages for 9-12.
So, how do you enter; simply follow the same rules above for the knitting book.
1st entry- Tell me one of your favorite classic books
earn 2 additional entries by,  subscribing or mention that you are a subscribed reader and/or posting this blog contest on your own blog/facebook/network.   Let me know you’ve done so in different comments.

Finally; I have a book review.  I’m not giving this book away.   I’m finding it too valuable right now. LOL.  This is one actually given to me and it didnt take too long to read.  Its only about 128 pages.

Momma's Guide to Thriving on One Income
 Momma’s Guide to Thriving On One Income by Kimberly Eddy.

There is many different sections.  The book is mainly a tool on showing you how you *can* live on one income and ways/steps to do so.  Most of it is pretty much common sense but I did glean a few helpful tips.  

For example:
One of her *tips* to keep ahead of the game (so to speak)  is record ever credit card purchase in your checkbook as if its already gone.  That way at the end of the month, you are frantically trying to come up with the bill amount.  

I wont repeat the whole book on here.  It was one I was not sorry to read.  One of the things that did “bug” me, for lack of a better word, is the “bless to be blessed” mentality we seem to have and she does express it in her book.   I have a problem with this kind of thinking.   I wont create a sermon but it was one of the things that bugged me.    It wasnt a deliberate, push that said, “Hey be sure to bless someone so you can be blessed!”   but more of a way of saying, “Hey its good to bless others (ok I totally agree!) it is sure to come back to you (eek,) .

When I was searching more about the author I found her site here
and noticed this book was on sale 50% off! Be sure to see if your budget cant not handle owning this book.  It is so filled with practical ways to stay at home, take care of your children, and still live. 

Thanks Ya’all for stopping by!

